Skip to content
Honest Fees

How much does a POS system cost in Canada?

Software runs from $0 to hundreds of dollars a month. Card fees are usually the biggest cost. Here's every part of the price, from each provider's own website.

Prices checked October 19, 2026 From providers' own sites How we make money

The short answer

A POS system has four costs: the software plan, the hardware, the card fees on every sale, and add-ons. For a small Canadian shop, software can be $0 and hardware under $100. Card fees are usually the biggest number by far.

In our estimate, a business taking $10,000 a month in credit cards spends about $3,100 to $5,300 in its first year at the published prices below, depending on the provider and before some hardware. Most of that is card fees.

1. Software: what each POS charges per month

POSMonthly software priceSource
SquareFree plan $0. Plus from $35 (“$35+”). Premium is custom.Square pricing
Helcim$0. POS, virtual terminal and invoicing included.Helcim pricing
Moneris Go Retail POSFrom $10, plus $34.95 per terminal rentalMoneris order page
ShopifyBasic $49 ($37 paid yearly), Grow $132 ($99 yearly), Advanced $517 ($389 yearly). POS Lite included. POS Pro adds $119 per location, billed yearly.Shopify pricing
Lightspeed RetailBasic $139, Core $239, Plus $399 billed monthly. $119, $199, $329 billed yearly.Lightspeed retail pricing
Lightspeed RestaurantStarter $89, Essential $239, Premium $499. Billing term not stated.Lightspeed restaurant pricing
TouchBistro“Starting at $89 /month,” currency not stated. Essentials bundle with hardware and payments “starting at $99 /month.”TouchBistro pricing
CloverStarter, Standard and Advanced plans. Prices by quote only.Clover pricing

Watch for “starting at.” Square’s Plus price varies by restaurant, retail or appointments package. TouchBistro says “hardware, payment processing, and additional fees apply.”

2. Hardware: buy it or rent it

Some providers sell hardware outright. Others rent it monthly. Published Canadian prices:

ProviderHardwarePrice
SquareContactless and chip reader$69 (as shown on Square’s Canadian site)
SquareStand / Handheld / Register$249 / $449 / $999
StripeBBPOS WisePad 3 / Reader S700 / Reader T600$79 / $419 / $469
HelcimCard Reader / Smart Terminal$239 / $429, or $39 a month for 1 year (Helcim’s page doesn’t label the currency)
MonerisMoneris Go terminalRental from $34.95 a month per terminal. No purchase price published.
Clearly PaymentsPayment terminalRented. Clearly says “terminal rental is additional where needed,” price not published.

Shopify says its Canadian hardware prices “will vary.” Lightspeed, TouchBistro and Clover don’t publish Canadian hardware prices on the pricing pages we checked.

Rental adds up. Moneris’s $34.95 a month is $419.40 a year per terminal. And hardware doesn’t always move with you. Clover says its devices “cannot be used with other payment processors.”

3. Card fees: usually the biggest line

You pay a fee on every card sale, on top of the software. Published in-person rates:

Card rates from each provider's own pricing page. The Monthly column shows one figure per provider, not every plan (see the software table above). Helcim's rate is its markup on top of interchange.
  • Square

    Flat rate

    Visit Square
    In person
    2.5%
    Online
    2.8% + 30¢
    Monthly
    $0 · Free plan
    Contract
    Month to month
  • In person
    2.6%
    Online
    2.8% + 30¢
    Monthly
    $49 · Basic plan
    Contract
    Monthly or yearly billing
  • In person
    2.6% + 10¢
    Online
    By quote
    Monthly
    $139 · Retail Basic plan
    Contract
    Fixed term; early exit fee covers the rest of the term
  • Moneris

    Flat or custom

    Visit Moneris
    In person
    2.65% + 10¢
    Online
    2.85% + 30¢
    Monthly
    $39.95 · Terminal rental + software fee
    Contract
    3 years, then 6-month renewals (45 days notice)
  • Helcim

    Interchange-plus

    Visit Helcim
    In person
    Interchange + 0.4% + 8¢
    Online
    Interchange + 0.5% + 25¢
    Monthly
    $0 · No monthly fee
    Contract
    Month to month, no cancellation fee
  • In person
    By quote
    Online
    By quote
    Monthly
    By quote
    Contract
    Fixed term, renews unless 30 days notice; no early exit
  • In person
    By quote
    Online
    By quote
    Monthly
    By quote
    Contract
    Set by the reseller; termination fees vary

Prices checked Oct 19, 2026 on each provider's own pricing page (how we check). "Interchange +" means the provider publishes only its markup. You also pay the card networks' interchange fee on top.

Debit is priced separately. Helcim charges 9¢ per Interac payment (12¢ for tap), Moneris 12¢ and Shopify 15¢ on Basic. Square charges 0.75% + 7¢, which costs more on big debit tickets.

Interchange-plus pricing, like Helcim’s, shows only the markup. Your total also includes interchange. See interchange-plus vs flat rate for how that works.

4. Add-ons and extras

These are the costs that don’t show up in the headline price:

  • Extra screens. Lightspeed Restaurant lists $40 per screen per month.
  • Retail features. Shopify POS Pro is $119 a month per location, billed yearly. Shopify recommends it for businesses with “a lot of foot traffic, multiple tiers of staff, or a large inventory catalog.”
  • Using your own processor. Shopify adds 2% per sale on Basic if you don’t use Shopify Payments (1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced, 0.2% on Plus).
  • Faster payouts. Square charges 1.95% per instant transfer.
  • Small Moneris fees. A $5 Moneris Go software fee, a $5 minimum merchant discount rate and a $2 paper statement fee. Moneris doesn’t say how often the first two are billed.
  • Mobile data. Helcim lists optional 4G wireless data at $9 a month (currency not labelled).

What the first year costs: four examples

Here’s one small business priced four ways. These are our estimates, using each provider’s published prices. We assume $10,000 a month in in-person credit card sales, 400 sales a month, one terminal or reader, and no debit, online sales, chargebacks or taxes.

SetupSoftware (12 months)HardwareCard fees (12 months)First-year total
Square Free + contactless reader$0$69$3,000 (2.5%)$3,069
Shopify Basic, billed monthly$588Not published$3,120 (2.6%)$3,708 + hardware
Moneris Go Retail POS + rented terminal$599.40Included in rental$3,660 (2.65% + 10¢)$4,259.40
Lightspeed Retail Basic, billed monthly$1,668Not published$3,600 (2.6% + 10¢)$5,268 + hardware

How we got there:

  • Square: 2.5% of $120,000 is $3,000. You’ll need your own phone or tablet to run the reader.
  • Shopify: $49 × 12 is $588. Add POS Pro and it’s another $1,428 a year. Billed yearly, Basic drops to $37 a month.
  • Moneris: $10 software + $34.95 terminal + the $5 Moneris Go software fee is $49.95 a month. Moneris doesn’t say how often the $5 is billed, so we counted it monthly. Card fees are 2.65% of $120,000 ($3,180) plus 10¢ on 4,800 sales ($480).
  • Lightspeed: $139 × 12 is $1,668, or $1,428 billed yearly. Card fees are 2.6% of $120,000 ($3,120) plus 10¢ on 4,800 sales ($480). Lightspeed says “custom rates available” on restaurant plans and that prices “can vary.”

Notice the pattern. Card fees are $3,000 or more in every row, and the gap between providers is mostly software. If you don’t need deep inventory or restaurant tools, the extra software cost buys you very little.

Who should pay more for software

Paying for a bigger plan makes sense when it saves you time or sales you’d otherwise lose:

  • Online and in-store together: Shopify keeps one product list and one stock count.
  • Big inventory, staff roles, several registers: Lightspeed Retail or Shopify POS Pro.
  • Table service and kitchen screens: Lightspeed Restaurant, TouchBistro or Clover. TouchBistro and Clover need a quote, so get the full price in writing.

Small shop, cafe or market stall? Start with a free plan and upgrade when it holds you back. Square says you can “upgrade when you want to, cancel anytime.”

Keep reading

Common questions

How much does a POS system cost per month in Canada?

The software runs from $0 to several hundred dollars a month at the providers that publish prices. Square and Helcim have $0 options. Shopify Basic is $49. Lightspeed Retail starts at $139 billed monthly, and Lightspeed Restaurant at $89. Moneris Go Retail POS starts at $10 plus $34.95 a month per terminal. Card fees come on top.

What does POS hardware cost?

It depends on the setup. On its Canadian site, Square lists a contactless reader at $69, a Stand at $249, a Handheld at $449 and a Register at $999. Stripe lists readers from $79 to $469. Moneris rents its Go terminal from $34.95 a month. Shopify, Lightspeed and Clover don't publish Canadian hardware prices on the pages we checked.

What's the biggest cost of a POS system?

For most small businesses, it's card fees, not software. In our estimate, a shop taking $10,000 a month in credit cards pays $3,000 a year in card fees on Square's 2.5% rate. That's more than a year of Lightspeed's Retail Basic plan at $139 a month, which comes to $1,668.

Is there a free POS system in Canada?

The software can be free. Square's Free plan is $0 a month, and Helcim includes its POS tools with no monthly fee. You still pay card fees on every sale and buy your own hardware. Free means no subscription, not no cost.