Skip to content
Honest Fees

Shopify POS fees in Canada: what you'll really pay

On Shopify's Basic plan you pay $49 a month, plus 2.6% per in-person card sale and 2.8% + 30¢ per online card payment through Shopify Payments.

Visit Shopify POSWe may earn a fee if you sign up. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend. See your real rate
Updated Oct 22 · Ian Chang · We may earn a fee i

Updated October 22, 2026 How we check prices Published by Ian Chang We may earn a fee from some providers. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend. How we rank

The bottom line

Shopify starts at $49 a month on the Basic plan. With Shopify Payments, in-person card sales cost 2.6% and online card payments cost 2.8% + 30¢.

At $10,000 a month in in-person card sales, that’s about $309 a month including the plan. Shopify makes the most sense when you sell online and in a store and want one system for both.

Get told when Shopify POS' fees change

Providers change fees with little notice. We email you what changed when a price here does, and nothing else.

Email me when a price on this page changes. From Honest Fees (SyncSpark Solutions Inc., hello@honestfees.ca). I can unsubscribe any time. Never sold. Privacy.

Shopify POS fees at a glance

Visit Shopify POSWe may earn a fee if you sign up. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend.
Pricing model
tiered
Contract
Monthly or yearly billing
Payouts
Not published
Monthly cost to take cards
$49 (Basic plan)
True cost: first year at $10,000/month in card sales (est.)
$3,777 (12 months of processing at 400 payments a month, plus the listed monthly cost, plus the WisePad 3 Card Reader at $69)
Payment typeRateSource
In person (card present)2.6% shopify.com
Online2.8% + 30¢ shopify.com
Interac debit15¢ shopify.com
American Express3.5% + 30¢ shopify.com

Monthly fees and plans

  • Basic (includes POS Lite): $49/month

    Intro price, not the regular price: $1 a month for the first 3 months, after a 3-day free trial. Who: not stated beyond starting a new store on the plan. Ends: no end date published. After: $49 a month (or $37 a month paid yearly). Offer terms

  • Grow: $132/month

    Intro price, not the regular price: $1 a month for the first 3 months, after a 3-day free trial. Who: not stated beyond starting a new store on the plan. Ends: no end date published. After: $132 a month (or $99 a month paid yearly). Offer terms

  • Advanced: $517/month
  • Plus: $3,400/month
  • POS Pro add-on: $119/month

Checked October 22, 2026 on shopify.com. Prices change, so confirm with Shopify POS before you sign.

Who it’s for

  • Businesses that sell online and in person. One system runs your online store and your counter.
  • Online stores adding a pop-up or a shop. POS Lite is included in the Basic plan.
  • Growing stores. Rates drop on bigger plans: in person goes from 2.6% on Basic to 2.5% on Grow and 2.4% on Advanced.
  • Busy retail locations. Shopify recommends POS Pro for stores with “a lot of foot traffic, multiple tiers of staff, or a large inventory catalog.”

Who should skip it

  • Businesses that only sell in person. You’d pay $49 a month for an online store you don’t need. Square’s Free plan has no monthly fee.
  • Owners who want to keep their current processor. Shopify adds 2% per sale on Basic if you don’t use Shopify Payments.
  • Online shops with lots of Amex or international buyers. Those cards cost 3.5% + 30¢ online on Basic.

The catch

Using your own processor costs extra. If you don’t use Shopify Payments, Shopify adds 2% per sale on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced and 0.2% on Plus. That’s on top of your other processor’s fees.

POS Pro is billed yearly, per location. Shopify lists it at $119 a month for each location, paid for the year.

Amex and international cards cost more online. On Basic, they’re 3.5% + 30¢ instead of 2.8% + 30¢.

Hardware is priced separately. Shopify’s Canadian hardware store lists the WisePad 3 card reader at $69, the POS Terminal at $459 and the Victa Mobile at $499, shown with a ”$” sign only.

Payout timing isn’t on the page. Shopify’s Canada help page doesn’t state how fast payouts arrive. Ask before you switch if cash flow is tight.

The top plan is a long commitment. Shopify Plus starts at $3,400 a month on a three-year term. Shopify also offers a one-year term but doesn’t list its price.

What it costs at your size

These are estimates. They use Shopify Payments rates on the Basic plan at the monthly price of $49, and assume every card is a Canadian card.

Example 1: $10,000 a month in person, 400 card payments.

  • Percentage: 2.6% × $10,000 = $260
  • Per payment: 0¢
  • Basic plan: $49
  • Estimated total: $309 a month, about 3.1% of sales

Example 2: $10,000 a month online, 400 orders.

  • Percentage: 2.8% × $10,000 = $280
  • Per payment: 400 × 30¢ = $120
  • Basic plan: $49
  • Estimated total: $449 a month, about 4.5% of sales

Paying yearly lowers the Basic plan to $37 or $44 a month, depending on the price Shopify shows you, which takes $5 to $12 off each example. If you add POS Pro for one store, add $119 a month.

Check what you pay today in the fee calculator.

Compared with

  • Square: a flat 2.5% in person and 2.8% + 30¢ online, with a free plan that lets you sell in person and online.
  • Lightspeed: a deeper retail POS from $139 a month on Retail Basic, with card processing at 2.6% + 10¢ in person.
Visit ShopifyWe may earn a fee if you sign up. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend.Or check your real rate in the calculator first

Common questions

What are Shopify Payments fees in Canada?

On the Basic plan, Shopify lists 2.6% per in-person card sale, 15¢ per in-person Interac payment and 2.8% + 30¢ per online card payment. Online Amex and international cards cost 3.5% + 30¢. Rates drop on bigger plans, down to 2.4% in person on Advanced and Plus.

How much is Shopify POS in Canada?

Shopify's Basic plan, which includes POS Lite, is $49 a month, or $37 or $44 a month if you pay yearly (Shopify shows different visitors different yearly prices). Grow is $132 a month and Advanced is $517. If you need POS Pro for a busy store, Shopify lists it as an extra $119 a month per location, billed yearly.

Can I use a different payment processor with Shopify?

Yes, but Shopify charges an extra fee on every sale when you do. It's 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced and 0.2% on Plus. That is on top of whatever the other processor charges you, so add both together when you compare costs.

What is Shopify's chargeback fee in Canada?

Shopify's help centre lists the chargeback fee for Canada as $15 CAD or $15 USD. That's in line with Helcim's $15 if you lose and Lightspeed's $15, and lower than the $25 Moneris lists. Stripe charges CA$15 per dispute, plus CA$15 more if you contest it.