Lowest published customs cost: Chit Chats, US$8.63 on top of postage, for a CA$100.00 order of one item made in Canada with no CUSMA claim. That’s the duty plus its own fees, with nothing left unpublished.
| Channel | Customs fees per parcel | Files CUSMA | Example, no CUSMA claim | Example, CUSMA-qualifying | Customer can pay instead | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chit Chats ↗ConsolidatorVisit Chit Chats |
| Yes | US$8.63 | US$1.50 | No, prepaid only | Visit Chit Chats |
| DHL Express ↗CourierVisit DHL Express |
| Not published | US$18.53with or without a CUSMA claim | Yes | Visit DHL Express | |
| Stallion Express ↗ConsolidatorVisit Stallion Express |
| Not published | At least US$7.13with or without a CUSMA claim | Not published | Visit Stallion Express | |
| Canada Post ↗MailVisit Canada Post |
| Not yetCanada Post's duty partner confirms (in writing, 2026-10-29) that a CUSMA claim removes the normal duty but not the 10% Section 301 tariff, so the 10% is still charged. | At least US$7.84with or without a CUSMA claim | No, prepaid only | Visit Canada Post | |
| FedEx CourierVisit FedEx |
| Not published | At least US$7.13with or without a CUSMA claim | Yes | Visit FedEx | |
| Purolator CourierVisit Purolator |
| Yes | At least US$7.13 | At least US$0.00 | Not published | Visit Purolator |
| UPS ↗CourierVisit UPS |
| Yes | At least US$7.13 | At least US$0.00 | Yes | Visit UPS |
Fees checked Oct 22 to 26, 2026 on each channel's own page (↗ opens it). Sorted by the example without a CUSMA claim: fully priced rows first, cheapest first; then rows with a fee whose currency isn't stated or that comes from a dated range; rows with a fee the channel doesn't publish come last. "At least" is the duty plus the fees we can add up: the rest of that cost is real, we just can't put a number on it. Where a channel doesn't say whether it files CUSMA claims, the CUSMA example shows the full duty; if it does file them, the duty part is US$0.00. US dollars at the Bank of Canada rate of 1.4036 for Oct 28, 2026.
US rules checked October 29, 2026 Estimates, not legal advice. Confirm with a licensed customs broker.
What the table says
- Canada Post’s fee grows with the duty. It adds 10% of duty plus a flat remittance fee, and its duty partner says a CUSMA claim on mail removes the normal duty but not the 10% tariff. For the example with a CUSMA-qualifying item, that’s US$7.84 + $1.99 (currency not stated) against US$1.50 with Chit Chats.
- Couriers keep their brokerage fee to themselves. UPS, FedEx and Purolator don’t publish what they charge to clear a Canadian parcel into the US, so their rows show the duty plus “not published”. DHL Express publishes only the fee for billing duty to you: CA$16.00 or 2.5% of duty, whichever is higher.
- If your goods qualify for CUSMA, the channel matters more than the price list. A channel that files the claim takes the duty to zero for the same item.
Our reading, not a rulingThe same CUSMA-qualifying item pays the 10% Section 301 tariff when sent by Canada Post (its duty partner Zonos confirms a CUSMA claim there removes the normal duty but not the 10%), and 0% when sent by a courier or consolidator that files the CUSMA claim.
As of Oct 29, 2026 · Source: Our reading of the USTR notice and Zonos
Chit Chats or Stallion Express?
Both are Canadian consolidators: they collect parcels, clear them into the US through a customs broker and hand them to USPS. On customs cost they differ in what they publish.
- Chit Chats lists a customs processing fee of US$1.35 per parcel and a broker item fee of US$0.15 per item, with no disbursement fee and no monthly fee. It handles CUSMA certifications ("CUSMA certificates are valid for one year.").
- Stallion Express gives a brokerage fee of $0.99 to $1.99 (currency not stated) per package. That figure comes from a blog post dated August 20, 2025 and is not on its pricing page. On CUSMA it says: "Possible duty/tariff waiver under CUSMA (confirmation pending from U.S. authorities)". When we checked on October 22, 2026, its homepage still said it could ship up to US$800 a day duty free, an exemption the US has suspended:
There is no duty-free limit for parcels to the US. The old US$800 "de minimis" exemption is suspended for every country, every value and every way of shipping, Canada and mail included.
As of Oct 29, 2026 · Source: White House, Executive Order 14388 (Feb 20, 2026)
When and how it ended: the de minimis timeline.
Chit Chats doesn’t accept goods whose codes are regulated by the US Department of Transportation, such as some car parts ("we're no longer able to accept HTS codes regulated by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) for shipments to the United States. This means that automotive parts associated with these regulated HTS codes can no longer be shipped to the U.S. through Chit Chats ."). Check that before you switch.
Shipping software
These sell you labels from the carriers above, so the customs cost is the carrier’s. They help with the paperwork and the duty quote at checkout.
We may earn a fee if you sign up with some providers in this table. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend.
| Software | Plan cost | What it says about duty | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Easyshipchecked Oct 20, 2026Visit Easyship | Free plan | "As the sender of the eCommerce parcel, you can choose who pays for any applicable import taxes or customs duties. You can manage this decision within the Easyship platform easily by either selecting "sender" or "receiver"." | Visit Easyship |
| ShipStationchecked Oct 22, 2026Visit ShipStation | From $19.99 a month (currency not stated) | "Confidently ship globally with prepaid duties and taxes, customs forms, and more." | Visit ShipStation |
| Freightcomchecked Oct 22, 2026Visit Freightcom | Not published | "Real-time, in-platform estimates on duties and taxes when shipping from Canada to the U.S. to book cross-border shipments with confidence." | Visit Freightcom |
| Shippochecked Oct 29, 2026Visit Shippo | Free plan | "Effective Aug. 29, 2025, all Canada Post shipments from Canada to the US require duties and taxes prepaid (DDP). You can prepay through Zonos, directly in Shippo, using your personal Canada Post account." | Visit Shippo |
None of these publishes a separate fee for prepaying duty, so expect the duty and the chosen carrier's clearance charges.
We may earn a fee if you sign up with some providers in this table. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend.
Postage is a separate bill
Every row here is customs cost only. Postage depends on weight, size and where in the US it’s going, so compare it on each provider’s own rate page (the ↗ beside each name in the table) or in their quote tool. For your own product and order value, the duty and fee estimator runs the same comparison. If you’re not sure which tariff your product pays, start with which rate your product pays.
Get told when these prices change
Providers change fees with little notice. We email you what changed when a price here does, and nothing else.